Dreams Becoming Reality

Four summers ago I never thought this would happen.

When I approached my pastor and told him I was assigned a summer internship to create a youth program for my second major (youth and nonprofit leadership), we knew the program we wanted.

But I never thought it would continue.

And I never thought it would turn into this.

11truebeautyteaparty

What began four summers ago is True Beauty,  the middle and high school (and some are still in elementary school) girls discipleship program of Oak Grove Baptist Church in Paducah, Ky.  The purpose of True Beauty is to teach girls what the Bible says about being a lady–what God intended womanhood to be–how to build biblical convictions in life, and above all else pour another layer of Gospel foundation in their lives. True Beauty is founded on 1 Peter 3:3-4, and I pray one day each of my girls surrenders their hearts to God’s magnificent love and plan for their lives, realizing that a new heart given only by the Lord at salvation is the way to true and lasting beauty.

IMG_0168

Two years ago a dream started taking root in my heart, one I was a little scared of verbalizing. I want to have a True Beauty Conference. 

Me? Lead a conference? Hahahahaha. Oh, that’s a good one.

How quickly I forget that God uses weak things to make much of Him (1 Corinthians 1:26-31).

So with a little trepidation and more excitement and anticipation than my heart can stand, I’m thrilled to announce (on this blog) that the first ever True Beauty Girls Conference will be held on Saturday, March 22, 2014 at the Carson Center in Paducah.

TrueBeautyConference2014Poster3

For more information or to register, check out the True Beauty Conference “website”, Twitter, or the following videos:

Please join us in prayer for this event, the speakers, the worship leader, and every single girl, mom or youth leader who will be in attendance on March 22. 

I hope to see some of you there!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

